Monday, April 6, 2020
7 Koreans Named Vice Chairs of ITU Radiocommunication Sector
Korea's Clout at ITU Grows
7 Koreans Named Vice Chairs of ITU Radiocommunication Sector
  • By Kim Eun-jin
  • October 28, 2019, 09:01
Share articles

National Radio Research Agency Administrator Kim Jeong-ryeol (third from the left in the front row) and the other delegation members of South Korea pose for a photo at ITU RA-19.

The National Radio Research Agency of the Ministry of Science and ICT announced on Oct. 27 that seven of its members have become vice chairs in the radiocommunication sector of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) at this year’s ITU Radiocommunication Assembly (RA).

The RA is a general assembly related to the management and research activities of the sector. Its functions include chair and vice chair appointment for advisory and study groups and approvals for research plans and results.

At present, South Korea takes up the largest part of the group of chairs and vice chairs in that sector. Especially, at this year’s RA, the agency newly joined the vice chair group of Study Group 5, which covers mobile communication issues, and that of Study Group 7, which covers space and astronomical research. In addition, multiple South Korean radiocommunication experts joined the sector as study group chairs, and South Korea’s international influence on radio use, standard research and development, and so on is expected to be enhanced down the road.

Also, at this year’s ITU RA, detailed standards were prepared regarding the allocation of a mobile frequency of up to 6 GHz for satellite interference reduction and global roaming of 5G (3.5 GHz) devices.