Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Hyundai Motor Distinguishes Itself in Motorsports
Winning This Year’s World Touring Car Cup
Hyundai Motor Distinguishes Itself in Motorsports
  • By Jung Min-hee
  • November 20, 2018, 10:45
Share articles

Yvan Muller (second from left) and Thed Björk (left) won World Touring Car Cup 2018 with Hyundai Motor's i30 N TCR.

Hyundai Motor Co. has won this year’s World Touring Car Cup (WTCR) and took the second place in World Rally Championship (WRC) 2018.

The WTCR was launched late last year through the merger of the TCR International Series and the World Touring Car Championship (WTCC). The WRC is one of the two most popular motorsports events of the world, the other being Formula 1. Both the WTCR and the WRC are Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA) events.

Hyundai won the first WTCR with its i30 N TCR. The drivers of the car won the winner and runner-up trophies in the driver segment, too.

When it comes to the WRC, the Hyundai World Rally Team came in second for the third consecutive year in the manufacturer and driver segments. The Toyota Gazoo Racing Team won the championship with 368 points. The gap between the winner and the runner-up decreased from 83 points to 27 points this year.

Hyundai Motor has a relatively short history in motorsports. It joined global motorsports for the first time back in 2000 with a remodeled Verna compact sedan, but disappeared in three years after poor performances. Hyundai came back to the WRC in 2012 and has ranked first to third since 2014.